Spanking Discussion

Let's Talk

Story Workshop #1 – An Intriguing Experiment

And what I mean by “an intriguing experiment” is twofold. On the one hand there’s this bold experiment of writing a story in public view, so that you all can see my tries and failures and a good deal of the spanko-mind of Quai Franklin. That’s intriguing and not a little scary.

It’s also intriguing because I’m curious to see who might be interested in watching this unfold and perhaps what sort of learning or collaborations may develop from it. At the very least I know there will be learning on my part, whether I get responses or not.

My plan here is to, through blog posts, develop a spanking story using my own method, which I will discuss along the way. I’ll let you know what I’m thinking and the decision process I go through in order to develop a story and then post the result at that point to my new page – “Spanking Story Under Construction (Workshop #1)“.

I hope to get your opinions and questions, but I won’t promise to take all suggestions. I love collaborating, so I’m likely to consider your suggestions seriously, but in the end my name is going on it, so I’m responsible for it, good or bad.

==========================================================

Today I’ll start with the necessary and daunting task of choosing a plot. Because this is to be a spanking story, this places some limits on the process that are both comforting and challenging. It’s comforting to us as spankos that the story will contain spanking, but that also lends itself to a limited number of feasible scenarios. And that brings me to the first question I need to consider. The question I’m considering is whether to write an erotic-based spanking story or a purely discipline-based spanking story (and of course some kind of hybrid is not out of the question). How I get to that question from “limited number of feasible scenarios” is because I see the word “feasible” and immediately as an author I think that I want to rise to the challenge of stretching the boundaries of what is feasible in a spanking scenario, while at the same time keeping in mind that my favorite spanking stories are the ones where I don’t have to suspend too much disbelief in order to enjoy them. In other words, I want to read something that I can easily convince myself can actually happen.

As an experienced, “sophisticated” reader of spanking stories, one of the first things I try to establish in my mind as I settle into the story is whether or not I’m going to witness an erotic story that features spanking or a discipline / punishment story that features spanking. I know what you’re thinking. “What about D/s?” In a D/s relationship, spanking could be purely disciplinary or for punishment only. I, fairly or not, put those into the erotic category, as they allow for BDSM bondage gear or corporal punishment involving different areas of the body as the Dominant sees fit. I’m quite the traditionalist when it comes to discipline / punishment spankings in that I want them to only involve hurting the buttocks and any hint of sexual play or arousal forces those scenarios in my mind to the sexual side.

So how do I choose? (Other than flipping a coin…) I usually go to a kind of scenario I’ve been fantasizing about lately and build a plot around that scenario. Searching my mental database of recent spanko fantasies, the most recent I come up with is spanking a woman tied over a desk. Her hands are tied in front of her – wrist to wrist and elbow to elbow. And those ties are secured to the desk so that she is forced to bend over it. Her skirt is pulled up and draped over waist. Her pulled-down panties frame her buttocks, stopping near the top of the thigh. And I’m strapping her…

But why am I strapping her? Is this my desk at work or in my study at home? She’s wearing boots in my vision. Is that because she’s trendy or maybe a bit of a tom boy?

A flurry of questions like these appear in my curious mind and I start working out the basic plot by figuring out who these people are and how they arrived at this point.

I’m also considering my previous work, as I don’t want to be too self-derivative. Because I wrote a story involving office punishment over a desk, I’m going to say that this is a desk in my study at home. Having a study with a nice sturdy desk means I have some small degree of wealth. I feel like maybe I’m an attorney. So who is she? Is she a client that can’t pay her bill? Am I a dark force and this is witness intimidation? No, now I’ve got it. She’s my opposing counsel and I’m punishing her this way instead of reporting her to the Bar for violating a discovery rule.

Now my spanko sense is tingling. I don’t recognize this plot idea as one I’ve ever read about or seen in a film, so I feel it’s unique and believable. Right off hand I can imagine two attorneys agreeing to work things out this way, if she has her livelihood at stake and he likes her enough to help her prevent that from happening…  What were my other questions again…

“She’s wearing boots in my vision. Is that because she’s trendy or maybe a bit of a tom boy?” I think she’s a well-paid attorney who knows fashion. So there would be soft, well-toned flesh under that dress and those boots would likely be faux leather. I think she’s assertive, so when she cried out in pain, it would be with an angry grunt or a plaintive moan.

At this point I have enough elements to build a basic plot.

a. Our two characters are attorneys opposing one anther on a case

b. She gets caught violating a discovery rule, for which she can be disbarred. (Here I’ll make a note to myself to do a bit of research to be sure this rings true.)

c. He threatens to bring the matter to the Bar.

d. She asks if they can work something out. (Here I’ll note a question to myself about whether she directly suggests sexual favors. )

e. They agree that he will spank her. (Fill in details about their agreement, perhaps involving conversation.)

f. He spanks her.

e. … denouement

I’ve also got some descriptive passages that may be useful from above:

“spanking a woman tied over a desk. Her hands are tied in front of her – wrist to wrist and elbow to elbow. And those ties are secured to the desk so that she is forced to bend over it. Her skirt is pulled up and draped over waist. Her pulled-down panties frame her buttocks, stopping near the top of the thigh. And I’m strapping her…”

“desk in my study at home.”

“well-paid attorney who knows fashion. So there would be soft, well-toned flesh under that dress and those boots would likely be faux leather. I think she’s assertive, so when she cried out in pain, it would be with an angry grunt or a plaintive moan.”

I’m in a good position now. There’s a lot more raw material here to use to construct what I want – a fun to read, hot spanking story. And now that I know the elements, that takes some of the pressure off of having to come up with one of the two hardest things to come up with as a writer – a good beginning. (The other hardest thing in my opinion is a good ending.)

To that end, the next important thing to decide is do we begin with the spanking or build to it? Or start with the spanking as the overall story arc and fill in the lead up story in strategic places within that arc?

I’m leaning towards starting right at the action. I do like a good build up, but a couple of things are leaning me towards action in this case. One is that the plot is so simple that it lends itself to flashbacks during the main arc spanking action and any attempt to build it up would end up being longer that it was worth for me or the reader. Those who know the law would immediately see unrealistic elements and those of us who work in other fields wouldn’t care about the details related to working in the legal profession.

Another reason to go right to the action is that a phrase keeps inserting itself into my writer’s intuition: “Best spanking ever.” From a spanker’s point of view this scenario is pretty sweet. The spanking is justifiable, consented to to the extent that the spankee feels she’s getting off easier than she would otherwise, and arrangements are made which would likely include talk of implements and numbers and tying positions. All this is great stuff in my spanko mind.

Next time, I’ll dive into crafting that first sentence and paragraph.

About Quai Franklin

Singer/songwriter, spanko/kinkster, fiction writer, philosopher, and discussion provocateur. I publish and broadcast independent voices you want to hear.

Tell me what you think...

Archives

